An "in-game ban", not given by ROBLOX staff but instead by game owners, only restricts the player's access to a specific game, but players with in-game bans still have full access to the ROBLOX website and all other games.
ROBLOXians are unable to view the profiles of banned accounts. A bug on January 15, 2014 gave users access to terminated account profiles. Moderators initially claimed that the bug was a new update. However, Arbolito, a ROBLOX user, confirmed that this was an error with ROBLOX's programming and was later nullified.
Many users who have created a new account state that their previous account has been banned for no apparent or sufficient reason. A glitch on the mobile client occasionally causes the player to see a message that they are permanently banned when they have received no recent moderator sanctions. It is rumored that players have been banned after their "parent" emailed The ROBLOX Corporation asking for their child's account to be closed.
Some users claim to have been banned for no logical reason. A rumor that spread throughout 2011–2013 noted that moderator MSE6 (now scandaxal) bans users for no reason, such as for being Christian. B1tsh1ft has been rumored to ban users who post a topic within the wrong subforum. After b1tsh1ft was fired, the rumor spread to a new mod, EliteEinherjar.
Users who violate ROBLOX's Terms of Service will be given one of these reprimands. They range from a stern reminder to follow ROBLOX's guidelines to having the user's IP permanently blocked from ROBLOX.
|Type of Ban||Description||Images|
|In Game Ban||The client is banned from that local game server. This type of sanction is not given by official ROBLOX administrators but the administrator(s) of that game. Some scripts allow the game creator to prevent the player from accessing any instance of the game all-together.|
All of the player's forum posts are replaced with the string [ Content Deleted ]. This does not prevent them from creating new posts. However, a moderation action can (and usually does) occur after the player's posts become [ Content Deleted ].
|Error 0x1||A user tries playing a game but they get an error saying "Roblox cannot startup. User code = 0x1." These "bans" are commonly given out to players who have created adult material. This type of moderation action seems to no longer be given, instead gettting an account deletion.|
This moderation action reminds players to follow the rules of ROBLOX. No account suspension occurs. Reminders typically occur for new users and minor violations of ROBLOX's Terms of Service. This particular level of "ban" is known to disconnect users from a game they're currently in. This type of ban is no longer used. Instead of reminders, all reminders are replaced with warnings.
This moderation action is similar to a reminder. It warns users to follow the ROBLOX Terms of Service. Warnings occur for slightly more serious violations of the Terms of Service or for repeated reminders.
|1 day ban||
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for one day (24 hours).
|3 day ban||
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for three days (72 hours).
|1 week (7 day)
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for seven days (1 week).
(14 day) ban
|The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for fourteen days (two weeks). The player is warned that any further violations of the ROBLOX Terms of Service may result in an account deletion. This is used for severe or repeated violations.|
The player's account is permanently banned from using ROBLOX. Users who try to view a terminated player profile will see Page cannot be found or no longer exists (a 404 error). Serious or repeated violations of the Terms of Service and/or violation of federal law will immediately result in an account deletion. Friends of a terminated user will see in their friends list a "User has been restricted" under the player's name.
|Poison ban||The player's account is deleted, and new account creation is disabled. All active users on the deleted player's specific IP address or linked to the deleted player's email are also deleted. Unlike an IP ban, poisoned users are allowed to enter the ROBLOX website and play as a guest or log into an account that is not linked to the email of the deleted player.|
This type of ban is reserved for very severe violations of the Terms of Service or federal law. All players on this IP Address are blocked for 7 days (1 week) and will see a 403 error when trying to access the ROBLOX website. Using a VPN or changing your dynamic or static IP address in order to access one's terminated account or create a new account can result if caught, the IP address being added to the list of banned IP's linked with the original banned IP.
|Unauthorized credentials ban (Permanent IP)||This is the most powerful ban a user can receive. All players on this IP address are permanently blocked. This is most likely by sending an appeal to email@example.com to see the appealing ban rules and having another account deleted. Also, on Wikipedia, similar to 403 Forbidden, the IP address requires authentication and has failed or not yet provided to access to the ROBLOX web service. This will redirect to Code 401 error.|
Bans and exploiting
Exploiting is a violation of the Terms of Service and can result in moderation action. For this reason, exploiters commonly do their business exploiting on alternate or guest accounts. Because of this, it is very difficult to capture an exploiter. However, there are methods developers can employ to identify exploiters. For instance, on Shedletsky's Sword Fight on the Heights, the game had a unobtainable badge without exploiting, "Touch The Divine." If a user were to use any form of exploit to grant themselves that badge, that user would automatically receive a ban, most likely an account deletion.
Appeals & Membership
Users are encouraged to appeal a moderation action through an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. If the moderation action is deemed to be unfair, it can be lifted. Many users believe that the ROBLOX appeals system is unfair, because appeals have approximately a 1% chance of being accepted for account deletions. Some users believe that users who purchase a premium membership are more likely to have a ban appealed and less likely to get banned, although this has not been proven. If the player does not appeal within 2-3 weeks, then the account is no longer allowed to be reopened.
Players with a premium membership who are banned receive an additional notification when their accounts are banned. This notification identifies when the player's ROBLOX membership will expire or renew and how to contact ROBLOX if the player wants to cancel his/her membership for the duration of their ban.